Nathan Shock Centers
Nathan Shock Centers

Coordinating Center



AFAR has been designated as the first Coordinating Center for the Nathan Shock Centers of Excellence in the Basic Biology of Aging, which are funded by the Division of Aging Biology of the National Institute on Aging.

The Centers provide leadership in the pursuit of basic research into the biology of aging. They do so through a Research Development Core, which administers small start-up funds locally, and national annual meetings to highlight specific areas of research. In addition, each Nathan Shock Center has several specialized cores that provide services to Shock Center members, as well as for-fee services to the community at large. The cores are different at each Center, depending on the strengths of each Institution.

The Nathan Shock Centers of Excellence in the Basic Biology of Aging are:

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Director: Nir Barzilai, MD

The Jackson Laboratory
Directors: Gary A. Churchill, PhD; Luanne L. Peters, PhD; and Ron Korstanje, PhD

University of Alabama at Birmingham
Director: Steven N. Austad, PhD

University of Oklahoma Health Science Center
Directors: Arlan Richardson, PhD; Holly van Remmen, PhD

University of Texas Health Sciences Center San Antonio
Directors: Randy Strong, PhD; Peter Hornsby, PhD

University of Washington
Directors: Peter S. Rabinovitch, MD, PhD; Matt Kaeberlein, PhD

As the Coordinating Center, the American Federation for Aging Research (AFAR) will develop and implement data quality control and sharing, provide logistical support and implement evaluation strategies to assess effectiveness and guide future directions. In addition, the Coordinating Center will  communicate the capabilities and achievements of the individual Centers to other aging researchers and the general public, provide information resources and serve as scientific exchange forum.

For updates on the Centers, as well as opportunities and resources from the field,