AFAR Awards of Distinction Awardees
AFAR Awards of Distinction Awardees

Past winners of AFAR honorary leadership awards recognizing those who have impacted aging research and public health

Johannes J. Baensch, PhD, Chief Scientific Officer at Nestlé Skin Health S.A.

Sam and Ann Barshop, Founders, The Sam and Ann Barshop Institute for Longevity and Aging Studies at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio

Robert N. Butler, MD, President and CEO, International Longevity Center

Andrew Chan, MD, PhD, Senior Vice President, Research Biology, Genentech

Nathaniel David, PhD, Co-Founder and President, Unity Biotechnology

Rose W. Dobrof, DSW

Sylvain Durrleman, MD, PhD, Vice President and Head of Aging Therapeutic Strategy, sanofi-aventis R&D, France

John C. Erickson, Chairman and Founder, Erickson Retirement Communities=

Rev. Monsignor Charles J. Fahey, AFAR Emeritus Board Member, Marie Ward Doty Professor in Aging Studies, Fordham University

Roger Ferguson, President and CEO, TIAA

Katy Fike, PhD, Agin2.0 and Generator Ventures

Fredric B. Garonzik, AFAR Emeritus Director, Former Partner, Goldman Sachs & Co. (posthumous recognition)

The Rosalinde and Arthur Gilbert Foundation

Paul F. Glenn, Glenn Foundation for Medical Research

Frances Hesselbein, President and CEO, The Frances Hesselbein Leadership Institute

Karen Katen, Pfizer Inc

Mehmood Khan, MD, CEO, Global Nutrition Group, PepsiCo

Nancy M. Kissinger, Co-founder, Women & Science Initiative, Rockefeller University

Edward Lanphier, Founder, Sangamo Therapeutics, Inc.

Douglas J. LaVigne, Senior Vice President, Business Management, Siemens Medical Solutions USA, Inc.

Husseini K. Manji, MD, FRCPC, Global Head, Neuroscience, Johnson & Johnson Pharmaceutical, Research and Development

Peter D. Meldrum, President and CEO, Myriad Genetics, Inc.

Jim Mellon, Chairman and Co-Founder, Juvenescence Limited.

Diane A. Nixon, Board Member, American Federation for Aging Research

Bill Novelli, Professor, McDonough School of Business, Georgetown University

Clarence Pearson, Global Health Advocate

Peter G. Peterson, Founder and Chairman, Peter G. Peterson Foundation

Corinne H. Rieder, Ed.D., Executive Director and Treasurer at The John A. Hartford Foundation 

Donna Regenstreif of The John A. Hartford Foundation

Hinda Rosenthal, President, The Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Foundation

Allen D. Roses, MD, Senior Vice President, Pharmacogenetics, GlaxoSmithKline

John W. Rowe, MD, Professor, Mailman School of Public Health, Columbia University

Andrew Sieg, Managing Director and Head of Global Wealth & Retirement Solutions at Bank of America Merrill Lynch 

John L. (Launny) Steffans, Managing Director, Spring Mountain Capital

Prachi J. Vakharia, WOMANIUM

Michael Varney, PhD, Senior Vice President, Research Administration, Genentech

Norman H. Volk, Chairman, The John A. Hartford Foundation

Christoph Westphal, MD, PhD, CEO and Vice Chair, Sirtris Pharmaceuticals

John C. Whitehead, Former Co-Chairman, Goldman Sachs & Co., Former Deputy Secretary of State

Franklin T. Williams, MD, Professor of Medicine Emeritus and VA Distinguished Physician, University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry, Former Director, The National Institute on Aging, Board Member Emeritus, AFAR