The latest updates from AFAR.

AFAR Highlights from 2018 GSA Annual Meeting

Nov 20

AFAR Highlights from 2018 GSA Annual Meeting View MoreBACK


AFAR is proud to have co-sponsored the 2018 Annual Meeting of the Gerontological Society of America (GSA). During the recent meeting in Boston, AFAR organized several events featuring our experts.


On Friday, November 16, AFAR held our 2018 Scientific Awards Ceremony and Lectures. Deputy Scientific Director Nir Barzilai, M.D. served as master of ceremonies.

Laura Niedernhofer, M.D., Ph.D. of the University of Minnesota received the Vincent Cristofalo Rising Star Award in Aging Research and presented the lecture, "DNA damage: The Most Stalwart Pillar of Aging."

AFAR board member and 2000 AFAR Research Grant recipient David A. Sinclair, Ph.D. of Harvard Medical School received the Irving S. Wright Award of Distinction and presented the lecture,
“Understanding Why We Grow Old As We Grow Older.”


On Saturday, November 17, AFAR helped organized two research symposia.

“The TAME Trial: A Prototype for Geroscience-Guided Therapeutics” featured presentations by Dr. Stephen Kritchevsky (Wake Forest School of Medicine), Dr. George Kuchel (University of Connecticut Health), Dr. Jamie Justice (Wake Forest School of Medicine), and Dr. Ameya Kulkarni (Albert Einstein College of Medicine).

“Strengthening Aging Research: Experiences With Rigor, Reproducibility, and Transparency” featured presentations by Dr. Andrew W. Brown (Indiana University School of Public Health Bloomington), Dr. Mark Espeland (Wake Forest School of Medicine), Dr. Paola Sebastiani (Boston University School of Public Health), and Dr. Patrick Phillips (University of Oregon). This session was organized by the National Institute on Aging’s Nathan Shock Centers of Excellence in the Basic Biology of Aging, for which AFAR serves as the Coordinating Center.


Many of AFAR grantees presented in the meeting’s Biological Sciences program. Also during the GSA Annual Meeting, Deputy Scientific Director Dr. Nir Barzilai received the 2018 Fondation ISPEN Longevity Prize.