Awards Dinner
AFAR Annual Gala

Annual Awards Dinner

On October 4, 2010, a vibrant mix of individuals in medicine, research, business, media, and government came together to celebrate several leaders in the field of aging research at the AFAR Annual Gala at the Union Club in New York City. Those leaders included Dr. Nir Barzilai, recipient of the Irving S. Wright Award of Distinction, and Dr. Andrew Dillin, recipient of the Vincent Cristofalo Rising Star in Aging Research Award. The Gala also honored the 2010 recipients of the AFAR Awards of Distinction. They are: Sam and Ann Barshop, founders of the Sam and Ann Barshop Institute for Longevity and Aging Studies at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio; Dr. Sylvain Durrleman, VP and Head of Ageing Therapeutic Strategy, sanofi-aventis R&D, France; Bill Novelli, Professor, McDonough School of Business, Georgetown University and former CEO, AARP; and Clarence E. Pearson, Global Health Advocate. All dinner proceeds will support the AFAR Research Grant Program.

The event, which attracted some 180 people from the corporate, scientific and foundation communities, as well as individual AFAR supporters, was held in conjunction with AFAR’s scientific conference, Rapamycin & mTOR Signaling in the Modulation of Healthspan & Lifespan: Potential and Problems. These events raised more than that will support AFAR's flagship Research Grant Program, which funds early-career scientists studying the biology of aging and age-related diseases and disorders.

To read more about AFAR Research Grant recipients, click here.

AFAR Awards Dinner

(l-r) John Rother, AARP; Honoree Clarence Pearson; Honoree Bill Novelli; AFAR Executive Director Stephanie Lederman

AFAR Awards Dinner

Honoree Sylvain Durrleman, MD, PhD and AFAR Board Member Helen Edelberg, MD, MPH

AFAR Awards Dinner

Bill Novelli presents the George E. and Marie Doty Award to Bill Novelli